I have been flying since I was 14 years old and have been in love with aviation for as long as I can remember. That being said, nothing is better than those days where you arrive at the airport to a fully fueled plane, fly around for a few hours, land, and go home all while your bank balance remains untouched. The Piper PA-46 Malibu and Matrix, now known as the M-Class, are a family of American light aircraft manufactured by Piper Aircraft of Vero Beach, Florida. Fresh Overhaul - Certified Engines / Sun Aviation Piper Service Center. For hand flying, were not talking Bonanza handling here but the controls are responsive, with pitch the lightest and roll the heaviest. Its also a good IFR airplane thanks to sturdy handling thats more SUV-like than sports car, plus it just looks sexy on the ramp. Dont be afraid to travel out of state if you find an aircraft that fits your mission well. With the Cherokeesaverage fuel burn of about 7 to 8 gallons per hour, it costs roughly $35 to $40 per hour in fuel costs alone to fly. Its 350-horsepower Lycoming TIO-540 engine lets you cruise at altitudes up to 25,000 feet and true airspeeds as fast as 225 knots. This site is owned and operated by Charlie Gasmire. These are the costs that I incur even if I dont fly a single hour in a year. If you hire a mechanic for a PPI and they find problems that convince you not to buy a plane, dont be disappointed. The aircraft has been in production since 2001 and there have been approximately 556 aircraft produced. Maintenance costs are also one of the hardest costs to predict. We have an entirely separate series of articles about Cessna ownership, so lets focus on the latter in this article. Victor Aviation is widely regarded as the finest aircraft engine overhaul facility in the world. There is a lot less wear and tear and there are fewer failures between 3,600-hour overhauls, which cost an average of $200,000. But I also think the rate then was well over $300 per hour then. The lack of cowl f